RSS

Two New Picture Books

06 Aug

FTC Disclosure:  I received e-copies of these books from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

As an elementary school librarian, I am responsible for keeping the library collection up to date. It is difficult to do this on a shoestring budget. NetGalley helps me to make sure I spend my book funds wisely.

teaparty in the woodsThe Tea Party in the Woods by Akiko Miyakoshi

Good Reads Summary:  Kikko sets out after her father with a forgotten pie for Grandma. When she arrives at a strange house in the wintry woods, a peek in the window reveals that the footprints Kikko had been following did not belong to her father at all, but to a bear in a long coat and hat! Alice in Wonderland meets Little Red Riding Hood in this charmed tale.

My thoughts: As with a lot of picture books, I chose this book because of the cover. A good cover is essential for a picture book. And while the story was a nice story, it’s the illustrations that make this a great book. The charcoal drawings with just a hint of color are stunningly beautiful. Even though I was reading this delightful book on  my iPad, I almost expected to find charcoal on my fingers as I swiped from page to page. As for the story – this year I will be focusing on fairytales during several library lessons and this will make an excellent companion to the traditional Red Riding Hood tale – and a bit less scary.

I will be certainly be purchasing this for the library collection.

Stanley at schoolStanley at School by Linda Bailey

Goodreads Summary:  Stanley knows school is for kids, not dogs. But every day he grows more and more curious. What did the kids do in that school all day? Stanley rounds up his pals from the dog park to take a closer look. Will they find the answers they’re looking for? One thing is for certain: School + Stanley = TROUBLE!

My thoughts: This is a cute little back to school story. Students who love dogs will enjoy the whimsical story. The illustrations are bright, engaging and sure to bring a smile to the reader’s face. Students will also be able to sympathize with Stanley and his friends when they get called to “the top dog’s office.”

This is another book I will be adding to our library collection.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
