RSS

Review: My Hometown by Russell Griesmer

07 Aug

myhometown

FTC Disclosure: I received an e-copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary:  Every town has a story. Experience small-town life and American history with this nearly wordless picture book. A magical newspaper takes a young boy on a journey through the history of a beloved hometown, from the 1860s to present day.

My Thoughts: Warning! For those of you who don’t understand the concept of wordless picture books, this book isn’t for you. I’ve seen a couple of negative reviews of this book because it didn’t have any words. I think I will have to write a blog post on just wordless picture books in general. But that is a post for another time.  This is a beautiful  book. The illustrations are stunning and will have great appeal to elementary and adult readers as well. The pictures tell the story/history of a small town via a magical newspaper. It is a great book to use for compare/contrast lessons as well as for helping students develop their critical thinking skills.

This is one I will certainly be publishing for the library collection and my personal collection, too.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Review: My Hometown by Russell Griesmer

  1. Jeanetta

    August 8, 2015 at 2:07 am

    The cover is amazing. I will have to check out the book. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
