RSS

Floral Depravity by Beverly Allen – Interview, Review and Giveaway

08 Oct

floral-depravity-large-banner640

It is my honor to welcome Beverly Allen to the blog today.It was a pleasure learning a little about Beverly, especially since it seems we have more in common than just our first names. Thank you so much for joining us today.  Thanks to the author/publisher I have one print copy to give away to a lucky reader. Just leave a comment for Beverly by midnight October 11th. And don’t forget to leave a way for me to contact you if you are the winner.

  1. When did you first decide you wanted to be an author? 

Somewhere in my 40s, much later than many of my author friends. I kind of came in the side door. I was writing puppet skits for kids in church, then some fiction, just for fun. It wasn’t until then, when I realized how much I enjoyed both the process and the challenge of writing, that I entertained the idea of trying to write something for publication.

  1. What is your writing schedule like?

I like to write in the morning, but not the early morning. I usually need the coffee to kick in, and then I’ll write. I like to write in segments of at least 500 words, sometimes 1000, depending on how easy the words are coming. Then I’ll take a mental break before adding another segment (or more, depending on how close deadlines are looming).

  1. What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I enjoy reading. I love playing board games. I’m also fond of campy old television and classic movies. I cook, bake, and have tried my hand at any number of crafts.

  1. What is your favorite children’s book?

Would it be cheating if I’d never read it as a child? I fell in love with Doctor Seuss when my daughter was little. I think my favorite was one of the more obscure titles, Mr Brown Can Moo, Can You? Something about that book I just loved to read aloud. As a child I loved a lot of different books. I fondly remember Flat Stanley, Curious George, and Clifford the Big Red Dog.

  1. What is your favorite adult book?

It would be easier to ask me to pick my favorite child, since I only have one. I am a person of faith, so the Bible has been important to me. Lord of the Flies was not a pleasant read, but perhaps it had a big impact on me, and how I see people (and write mysteries). Also loved The Miracle Worker, the story of Anne Sullivan, which was a little more uplifting. Ugh, so many good books.

  1. If you were not a writer, what would you be?

My college degree is in engineering, but that wasn’t a good pick since it didn’t allow enough creative expression. I needed something that allowed for creativity. Maybe an interior designer or some kind of artist or musician. Or a cake decorator.

  1. What is your favorite treat?

Pizza.

  1. If you could have a meal with any author (living or dead) who would it be and what would you eat?

That would be hard, because I get all fan-girl around my favorite authors. I think it would be fun to sit down with Agatha Christie and get some mystery writing tips. Maybe a meal of something decidedly British, like fish and chips. Or tea and crumpets. (Not sure I’ve ever really had a crumpet, but who cares, when you’re eating with Agatha Christie.)

Floral Depravity
by Beverly Allen

A sweet romance, lots of chuckles and surprises, and a tangled mystery. One I recommend to cozy fans.
~FUONLYKNEW
Laura’s Ramblins and Reviews

Author Beverly Allen has managed to once again pen a story of the highest caliber. She blends mystery, humor, and charmingly fun characters together to form the perfect bouquet for her readers to enjoy.
~Lisa K’s Book Reviews

9780425264997Floral Depravity
(A Bridal Bouquet Shop Mystery)

Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Publisher: Berkley (October 6, 2015)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0425264997
E-Book ASIN: B00SI027LY
goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis

In the latest Bridal Bouquet Shop mystery, florist Audrey Bloom creates an arrangement for a one-of-a-kind wedding, but ends up pruning a one-of-a-kind criminal…

As the co-owner of the Rose in Bloom Flower Shop, Audrey knows how to put together unique wedding bouquets, but this one takes the cake. The daughter of a local historian is getting married in a medieval-themed, hand-fasting ceremony, and Audrey is responsible for providing period-accurate blooms.

But making sure she gets her roses right turns out to be the least of Audrey’s problems. Shortly after the vows are exchanged, the father of the groom suddenly drops dead. When Audrey discovers the man’s death stems from monkshood poisoning, it’s a clear-cut case of murder. Now, faced with a suspect list that rivals the guest list, Audrey needs to root out the toxic killer…

Barbara Early1

About The Author –

 Beverly Allen writes cozy mysteries with a healthy dose of comedy and sometimes a splash of romance. When not reading or writing, she enjoys cooking, crafts, home-improvement projects, and spending time with her family and four naughty, but adorable cats. She grew up and still lives, in the suburbs of Buffalo, NY.

 

Author Links:

http://www.beverlyallenmysteries.com/

https://twitter.com/BarbEarly

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorBeverlyAllen

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7769795.Beverly_Allen

Purchase Links
Amazon     B&N      Penguin/Random House

Tour Participants

October 6 – fuonlyknew – Review, Giveaway

October 7 – Lisa Ks Book Review – Review, Guest Post, Giveaway

October 8 – Booklady’s Booknotes – Review, Interview, Giveaway

October 9 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – Review, Giveaway

October 9 – Cozy Up With Kathy – Interview

October 10 – Brooke Blogs – Review, Giveaway

October 11 – Shelley’s Book Case – Review, Guest Post, Giveaway

My thoughts:  Floral Depravity is book three in the series but it works easily as a stand alone read. Though, if you are like me, when you discover a mystery series with characters you really like, you will want to be sure to read all the books in the series. My only problem is I either need to win the lottery so I can quit my day job and read 24/7 or I’ve got to stop finding great new to me authors.  

There were many aspects of this book that drew me in. I’m a big fan of Ren Faires, even though that’s not really the same thing as the setting for this book. The medieval re-enactors Audrey finds herself involved with are way more serious, still it added an interesting flavor to the story. But the big pull for me is Audrey’s connection to her grandmother. While it’s not a big part of this story (Audrey has just purchased her grandmother’s cottage), the love Audrey felt for her is clear and is one of the things that will keep me reading so I can learn more.  

Floral Depravity is a solid good read that I did not want to put down. There are plenty of suspects to keep the reader guessing and on their toes until the end.

I love Aubrey’s way with flowers and her calm reaction to almost everything, including discovering the medieval friar is actually her long lost father. (Now, don’t get me wrong, Allen does a good job of portraying the turmoil Aubrey feels when he just pops up after all this time, but I loved how she dealt with it without totally freaking out. It was an interesting addition to the story that didn’t take away from the mystery – does that make sense?

 I have two main measures for deciding if a mystery makes the cut – do I want to read more and will I recommend it to others. Both are most certainly true about Floral Depravity. If you enjoy mysteries and flowers, then I highly recommend that you add this one to your TBR list.

Don’t forget to leave a comment for Beverly for a chance to win a copy of the book.  Be sure to visit the other stops on the tour for more opportunities to win.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

15 responses to “Floral Depravity by Beverly Allen – Interview, Review and Giveaway

  1. Melissa Morr

    October 8, 2015 at 4:20 am

    This book sounds like a book my mom would enjoy

     
  2. sallycootie

    October 8, 2015 at 8:07 am

    I enjoyed the interview and enjoyed the review even more. Definitely to go on my TBR list, which means I need to start from the beginning. So many books to read! What a great problem to have. Thanks for the giveaway.

     
  3. Beverly Allen

    October 8, 2015 at 9:01 am

    Thanks so much for hosting Floral Depravity, and for your kind review! The medieval setting was a lot of fun to write. I’m glad you liked it!

     
  4. Peggy

    October 8, 2015 at 9:42 am

    I enjoyed reading this interview and the book sounds like a one I’ll enjoy reading!

     
  5. Becky Richardson

    October 8, 2015 at 10:14 am

    I would love to read this! Thanks for the chance.

     
    • bevarcher

      November 5, 2015 at 10:31 am

      Becky – I never heard back from the other winner. So you name was drawn next. Please email me at bevarcher AT me Dot com with your mailing address.

       
  6. bpwoodfield

    October 8, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    I’d love to win this book. I’ve got the first book but haven’t read it yet. The series looks great.
    bpwoodfield@gmail.com

     
  7. Christi King

    October 8, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    I love this series and can’t wait to read this new book. Thanks for the opportunity!

     
  8. holdenj

    October 9, 2015 at 8:37 am

    Thanks for the great post! I know what you mean about finding so many new books to catch up on! There’s never enough time!

     
  9. Cindy Jameson

    October 9, 2015 at 3:14 pm

    Definitely a cozy that I want to try. I love when I cannot figure out the ending ahead of time!

     
  10. Bonnie

    October 9, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    Congratulations to Beverly on her new release! It sounds like a very interesting book and I have added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the great giveaway.

     
  11. Anne

    October 10, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    A wonderful series and great feature and giveaway. Thanks for this chance.

     
    • bevarcher

      October 28, 2015 at 8:16 pm

      Anne – send me your mailing address. You are the winner of the print copy of Floral Depravity!

       
  12. Bonnijean Marley

    October 12, 2015 at 10:48 am

    I love cozy mysteries, and this one looks like a good read.

     
  13. Jeanetta

    October 25, 2015 at 1:01 am

    Floral Depravity sounds like a great cozy mystery! I would like to learn more about the language of flowers. Thank you for the giveaway.
    myrifraf(at)gmail(dot)com

     

Leave a Reply

 
