RSS

2015 Swapoween Reveal

03 Nov

2015SwapoweenButton

Halloween is a tough time of year for me. When I was a kid, I loved Halloween. Who wouldn’t: dressing up and all that chocolate? I was raised by my Granny. Her birthday is on Halloween. So it was even more special. But when she died it quit being fun. When the children came along, some of the fun came back, but this year both of the boys are grown and out doing their own thing. So, I decided to find something to help chase away the blues.

I’ve participated in several of the swaps hosted Chaotic Goddesses. This is my second Swapoween. It was a great way to get me through the Halloween doldrums.

My partner was the delightful Ruth over at My Devotional Thoughts. Be sure to check out her blog.

DSC_8081

Ruth sent me some wonderful things. I’m sorry the picture is so dark, you can’t see the adorable black kitten. I love pumpkins so she sent a cute stuffed pumpkin and a set of dancing pumpkins.

Like Ruth, I love chocolate, especially Reeses Peanut Butter Cups. But, I’ve been trying (very unsuccessfully) to go Paleo – so no Halloween Candy for me. I had told Ruth about all the dogs we have in our house. We have three that belong to us (maybe a fourth one, if I can convince the trainer to let him stay) and we foster service dogs. At any given time we have up to 6 dogs in our home. So since she couldn’t send me treats, Ruth very thoughtfully sent pumpkin flavored treats for the dogs. They LOVE them. I’m going to have to find out where she got them so I can get more.

Thanks Ruth for making my Halloween a little brighter.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “2015 Swapoween Reveal

  1. bethwade1

    November 5, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Aw, that is so sweet that she sent treats for the pups! I don’t know if this is paleo (it IS raw), but I’ve appeased my sweet tooth through tossing a few mejdool dates into the food processor, along with almond meal/almond flour (which is blanched, ground almonds) and raw cocoa powder (no sugar added), then pressing that into molds and letting it set up in the fridge. Maybe something similar will work for you? It’s kind of a caramelly/nutty/chocolate treat.
    And by the way, that stuffed pumpkin is darling! Thanks for joining us for the swap- we’re glad it chased away some of the blues. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
