RSS

Friday Memes

22 Jan

Friday Memes (1)

Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda’s Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginnings:  I know I’m not an ordinary ten-year-old kid. I mean sure, I do ordinary things. I eat ice cream. I ride my bike. I play ball. I have an XBox. Stuff like that makes me ordinary. I guess. And i feel ordinary. Inside. But I know ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. I know ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Friday 56: “She seems very nice.”

                     “Yeah, she is.’

                     “She’s very pretty, ” Mom said.

                      “Yeah, I know,” I answered. “We’re kind of like Beauty and the Beast.

 

wonder  The book I’m highlighting is Wonder by R. J. Palacio.  This is a re-read for me. My 4th & 5th Grade Book Detectives are reading. I think it’s a book everyone should read.

Summary from Goodreads:  You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

Narrated by Auggie and the people around him whose lives he touches forever, Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Friday Memes

  1. Julie @ Reading Life

    January 22, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    Wow, this sounds like a really good book. I do believe I’ll have to read it. Here’s mine: Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

     
  2. Maria

    January 22, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    This sounds like an interesting book – I hope the kids accept him and show the better parts of humanity to him. Here’s my Friday meme

     
  3. Freda Mans

    January 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

    This is a book I have wanted to read forever now. I hope you love it!
    Happy weekend!

     
  4. fuonlyknew

    January 23, 2016 at 4:27 pm

    Cute snippet. I’ve seen this series before. I bet I would have enjoyed it when I was a oung girl.

    My 56 – http://fuonlyknew.com/2016/01/22/the-friday-56-93-the-wolf-gift/

     
  5. antaunt (@topazshell)

    January 24, 2016 at 8:53 am

    Want to read this one. The last sentence of the 56 is very poignant. Like the beginning too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
