RSS

Great Escapes Tour: Gone By Midnight and Other Stories by Joyce and Jim Laverne: Interview and Review

16 Feb

gone-by-midnighr-large-banner640

It is my pleasure to welcome Jim Laverne to the blog today.  He graciously agreed to answer a few questions.

  1. When did you first decide you wanted to be an author?

Back when Hurricane Hugo hit the Charlotte area, we were without power for three weeks. We had to entertain our three children so we had a round robin going for creating a story. It was so much fun that I started telling Joyce that this is what we needed to do.

  1. What is your writing schedule like?

First thing I do when I get up is start review what I’ve written the day before and adding to it to stay focused for the day. Then I take the grandkids to school. I come back and make a latte then start writing again until lunch. After lunch I edit and do promo work. That pretty much sums it up.

  1. What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I like to read other authors and go to the movies. If I’m irritated, I take apart my computer and reconfigure it. This calms me and makes my system work better.

  1. What is your favorite children’s book?

A Cat in the Hat is probably my favorite. I read it to the kids and grandkids.

  1. What is your favorite adult book?

It would probably be a paranormal mystery or a cozy mystery.

  1. If you were not a writer, what would you be?

When I wasn’t a writer I mostly worked in the computer industry but I like being a reporter as well.

  1. What is your favorite treat?

That would be having my latte every day.

  1. If you could have a meal with any author (living or dead) who would it be and what would you eat?

That would be Joyce. I would love to have one more meal with her and a good conversation. It would be something Italian. That was the first decent meal we ever had together.

Thanks Jim for visiting with us today. Joyce is also on my list of authors I would like to share a good meal with.

Gone by Midnight
by Joyce and Jim Lavene

Filled with magic and ghost stories you will be moved to read it till the very end.
~Shelley’s Book Case

If you love Jim and Joyce’s other books, you’ll want to check this out. It will give you the answer to how they could write so many different series, because they can write anything!
~A Chick Who Reads

Grab your copy. Start from the beginning, or hop around and start anywhere. It’s all good fun from these wonderful authors.
~fuonlyknew

The best compilation of short stories I have ever read!
~Lisa K’s Book Reviews

It’s difficult in a few pages to write a wonderful story, complete, well-defined but these two authors have managed it perfectly. Each story is a real gem.
~LibriAmoriMiei

Gone by Midnight is an entertaining and eclectic collection of stories. From the opening sweet ghost story “Aunt Edna”, to sci-fi, fantasy, and everything in between, I enjoyed them all.
~The Book’s the Thing

Gone by Midnight - front only

Gone by Midnight
Genre – Cozy Mystery
Print Length: 149 pages
Publisher: J. Lavene (February 2, 2016)
ASIN: B019AJC1XU
goodreads-badge-add-plus

Fans of Joyce and Jim Lavene will thrill at this collection of thirteen short stories—many are set in the worlds of their national bestselling mystery series, including the Missing Pieces Mysteries, the Renaissance Faire Mysteries, the Retired Witches Mysteries, and an upcoming mystery novel!

These stories contain the elements of mystery and fantasy the Lavenes are famous for, as well as some new things their readers have never seen. Several stories feature characters interacting with ghosts, magic, and the supernatural—the healing woman in “Courtship;” the Civil War widow in “One with the Darkness;” the city girl who summons a wizard from the past in “The Magician and the Sorceress/Accountant;” and the young introvert in “Aunt Edna” who finds her calling with help from a ghostly visitor.

Poignant, charming, and captivating, Joyce and Jim Lavene bring their characteristic wit and heart to these stories and introduce each one with a passage about its origin or how it ties into the universe they’ve created. Gone by Midnight is a treasury of tales that will delight the mind and touch the heart from one of the most prolific writing duos of our time.

joycejim

About The Authors

Joyce and Jim Lavene write award-winning, bestselling mystery fiction as themselves, J.J. Cook, and Ellie Grant. They have written and published more than 70 novels for Harlequin, Berkley, Amazon, and Gallery Books along with hundreds of non-fiction articles for national and regional publications. They live in rural North Carolina with their family.

www.joyceandjimlavene.com

www.facebook.com/joyceandjimlavene

http://amazon.com/author/jlavene

https://twitter.com/AuthorJLavene

Purchase link: http://www.amazon.com/Gone-Midnight-Joyce-Lavene-ebook/dp/B019AJC1XU

My thoughts:  FTC Disclosure – I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have yet to read anything by the Lavenes that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy. Whenever you pick up one of their books you just know it’s going to be a good read. What I really enjoyed about this collection of short stories is that it gave me another peek into the creative workings of their minds. I really enjoyed all the stories and am hard pressed to pick a favorite. Though if I must choose a favorite it would be the title story: Gone By Midnight. It reminded me of a similar experience I had one I was much younger.  There is only one negative about this collection of short stories. And that is that they are short stories. As I finished each story, I wanted to read more, know more about the characters. That’s the sign of a great author. They leave you wanting more.

Be sure to check out the other stops on the tour and to stop by the tour page for a chance to win a copy of Gone by Midnight.

Tour Participants

February 5 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

February 6 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

February 7 – Shelley’s Book Case – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

February 8 – deal sharing aunt – SPOTLIGHT

February 9 – Cozy Up With Kathy – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

February 10 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

February 11 – fuonlyknew – REVIEW

February 12 – Lisa Ks  book Reviews – REVIEW

February 13 – LibriAmoriMiei – REVIEW

February 14 – Author Annette Drake’s blog – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

February 15 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW, GIVEAWAY

February 16 – Booklady’s Booknotes – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

February 17 – Brooke Blogs – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

February 18 – Tea and A Book – REVIEW

February 19 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

 

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: