RSS

Wish by Barbara O’Connor – Review

12 Jun

Wish

Wish by Barbara O’Connor

Goodreads Summary:  Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

FTC Disclosure:  I received a free e-copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My thoughts: I chose to read this book as a possible selection for my 4th & 5th Grade Book Club (Book Detectives) since it might be a Newbery contender.

Even though I predicted the ending early on, I really love the book.  I know that several of my young readers will enjoy the book, too.  It’s just an all around great read for kids. The characters are funny and of course the dog! I love that the title of the book, the heart of the book, is incorporated into the title.

Wish is a great for a read aloud and is also great for many discussions. I have already added it to my order list for the fall. I can’t wait to start recommending it to my students.

Wish will be released on August 30, 2016. Don’t miss it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 12, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Wish by Barbara O’Connor – Review

  1. barbaraoconnor

    June 13, 2016 at 7:22 pm

    Thank you for this lovely review! I’m so glad you liked it and will be sharing with your students.

     

Leave a Reply

 
